Why Networking Is Important

I tend to go to my fair share of networking activities.  It is something I do and plan in my weeks schedule as much as meeting with clients and paying bills.  Why?  Because it is important.

Many people see networking as superficial and based at just wanting to grow your business or to add to the number of connections you have on LinkedIn.  Unfortunately, while there are people that go to various networking opportunities for these reasons, a majority of them are there for the right reasons.  In my belief, there are two reasons why networking is important

  • To deepen relationships that you already have
  • To develop relationships with people you do not know

Notice I said relationships in each of the reasons.  Relationships are important to everyone, regardless of your personal or professional situation.  By growing your relationships with other professionals in a professional setting, people then do the same with you.  From there, then people can get to know who you truly are. It is, I believe, in everyone’s DNA to want to help people, especially the people they have a relationship with.

I just saw a job posting for a graphic designer.  I know someone that is currently looking for work.  This is someone I know from professional networking events and gatherings.  I immediately sent him the link to the posting and let him know I thought of him immediately as I was it.  If I did not have and relationship with this individual, I may have passed it along.  But then again, I may not have.  It was the relationship that made sure I sent him the posting.

Let me know how networking has helped you.

–J. Nolfo helps companies understand their market and customers though a variety of market research strategies. He has over ten years of experience of market research for strategic planning purposes. He is the Director of Research at Rhino Market Research. He shares his thoughts about market research and business concepts with his blog “Pensare…Understanding Market Research in Business“. If you would like to discuss this blog or how J. can help you understand your market and customer needs, email him at jnolfo@rhinomarketresearch.com.

About J. Nolfo
Well...there is a lot to know. #Cx, #Analytics, #SM, Specialty #AgChem, #StL sports, & more. FT @BASFAgProducts. @Mizzou Alum. Supporter of the #Rhino. Tweets my own. #SMMW17 attendee....Dad...Hiker...Scouter...and so much more.

Leave a Reply

