Determining Your Passion

PassionYesterday morning, I had the great opportunity to have breakfast with and network with with a group primarily made up of small business owners.  The purpose of this group to get together is to help make each other successful by providing thoughts and suggestions on issues that are coming up in their business.  You can relate it to an informal Board of Directors or Advisors.

One of the topics that was brought up was that we all know can easily tell someone what we do.  However, most people, even in professional settings, do not really care.  What came out of the discussion was the why we do what we do.  As an exercise, we were to quickly write down out what and our why.  This is what I initially wrote down:

  • What: Provide market research services to small businesses so that they could better understand their customers and develop strategies to find more of them
  • Why: I want other small businesses to grow and be successful.

Sound good right?  Well, as everyone started discussing their “what’s” and “why’s”, one of the people who I have gotten to know well over the past year stated his “what” and “why”, I had to comment that his “why” had nothing to do with business.  It was something personal.  It got down to his passion for owning his own business.

It immediately made me re-evaluate my why from a personal sense.  I wrote a new why that was still on a similar track, but a little broader and truly more encompassing of not only the work I do but also some of the things I do as a volunteer.  My new “why” turned into this:

To Help Others Succeed.

Something simple, but, in my mind, powerful.  For those readers that know me personally , I help out with job seeker support groups and I am passionate about helping with the Boy Scouts of America.  Through my business and my volunteer activities, I want others to realize the potential of themselves or their business (or maybe both).

What is your passion, in other words your “why”, for what you do?  Let me know in the comment section below.

–J. Nolfo helps companies understand their market and customers though a variety of market research strategies. He has over ten years of experience of market research for strategic planning purposes. He is the Director of Research at Rhino Market Research. He shares his thoughts about market research and business concepts with his blog “Pensare…Understanding Market Research in Business“. If you would like to discuss this blog or how J. can help you understand your market and customer needs, email him at jnolfo@rhinomarketresearch.com.

About J. Nolfo
Well...there is a lot to know. #Cx, #Analytics, #SM, Specialty #AgChem, #StL sports, & more. FT @BASFAgProducts. @Mizzou Alum. Supporter of the #Rhino. Tweets my own. #SMMW17 attendee....Dad...Hiker...Scouter...and so much more.

Leave a Reply

