The First Thing Entrepreneurs Need To Be Successful…Focus

Inspired EntrepreneurshipThe other day Merriam-Webster’s released a list of 15 new words added to this year’s Collegiate Dictionary. I am sure by now you have heard some of the ones included. Some of the new words include man cave, systemic risk, and cloud computing. With our ever expanding language, you are bound to hear new words all the time.

Well, yesterday for me, was one of those times. I was ant an event last night and I heard the term “entrepreneurs disease”. I will have to admit that I never heard that one, even though I am around entrepreneurs all the time. It’s definition, although not Merriam-Webster quality, is the basic lack of focus entrepreneurs have because they have multiple concepts and ideas they could pursue. These concepts and ideas may or may not be related to each other.
Developing focus in anything is important in getting larger projects accomplished. I know I have played around with a number of time management systems to maintain focus on what I need to get accomplished short term and long term. Many have failed because they get to complicated or they really do not satisfy my needs long term.

For me, I recently ready about a new system from Dave Ramsey in his book EntreLeadership. In it he revisits Stephen Covey’s quadrant theory (importance versus urgency) as well as a daily “to do” list where he references steak sauce.

The process on the to do list is very simple. And that is one thing I liked about it. He writes in the book to list out everything that you want to get accomplished today. From there, label all the ones that must be done today with an “A”. All the ones that need to get done soon (and today would be great), label them with a “B”. Everything else is a “C”. Within each group, order the items in importance of getting accomplished. In this format, “A1” (like the steak sauce) would be done first, “A2” second and so on.

I have modified this to add the date originally added to the list and a due date. It is now a Google Doc for me and I have it up all the time when I am working; and sometimes when I am not. This has been working well for me. There was a few weeks that I neglected my steak sauce list and I was completely inefficient and ineffective. Why? No focus. So now I am back on it.

Let me know what you do to stay focused.

–J. Nolfo helps companies understand their market and customers though a variety of market research strategies. He has over ten years of experience of market research for strategic planning purposes. He is the Director of Research at Rhino Market Research. He shares his thoughts about market research and business concepts with his blog “Pensare…Understanding Market Research in Business“. If you would like to discuss this blog or how J. can help you understand your market and customer needs, email him at jnolfo@rhinomarketresearch.com.

About J. Nolfo
Well...there is a lot to know. #Cx, #Analytics, #SM, Specialty #AgChem, #StL sports, & more. FT @BASFAgProducts. @Mizzou Alum. Supporter of the #Rhino. Tweets my own. #SMMW17 attendee....Dad...Hiker...Scouter...and so much more.

Leave a Reply

