Networking For Personal (And Business) Success

NetworkingIt all started with something I heard on a Tuesday morning. The phrase I heard was on the subject of networking. Although not a verbatim quote, the phrase was “By increasing your network, you are also increasing your net worth.” Wow! Brilliant! I never thought about a network equating to a financial value.

It was so good, that I had to tweet it out almost immediately. I then added a simple comment, “What are you doing to increase both?” It got a few good re-tweets and comments back within a short period of time. One person replied stating “making introductions..expanding other people’s networks..everybody should make introductions everyday!” Another said “being selfless in helping others to grow their networks is key. It always comes back around.”

That night, I attended a networking event. It was a good event as there was a good mix of people I knew well, others that I knew a little, but wanted to get to know better, and people I have never seen before in my life (which I always like meeting new people). And I am sure you can guess what I did. I networked. Not only did I grow my network (and thus net worth), but I did a lot of introducing people I knew who did not know each other. The introductions were for a number reasons: job seekers, good professional connections, or wanting to meet someone new. Regardless of the reasons, I feel like I did more than my fair share.

Networking sounds easy. I would submit to you that it can be. However, I will have to admit that networking was not something that came easily to me. There are even times today that I have that little bit of apprehension as I enter an event. However, I typically try and find someone that I know first and start a conversation with them. This puts me at ease and gets me ready to meet that person I do not know. Also, I always try and make connections between people I know. This can help ease that apprehension for me.

–J. Nolfo helps companies understand their market and customers though a variety of market research strategies. He has over ten years of experience of market research for strategic planning purposes. He is the Director of Research at Rhino Market Research. He shares his thoughts about market research and business concepts with his blog “Pensare…Understanding Market Research in Business“. If you would like to discuss this blog or how J. can help you understand your market and customer needs, email him at jnolfo@rhinomarketresearch.com.

About J. Nolfo
Well...there is a lot to know. #Cx, #Analytics, #SM, Specialty #AgChem, #StL sports, & more. FT @BASFAgProducts. @Mizzou Alum. Supporter of the #Rhino. Tweets my own. #SMMW17 attendee....Dad...Hiker...Scouter...and so much more.

Leave a Reply

