Is Your Inbox Scaring You?

EmailNext week is Halloween.  It is the one time of the year that many us celebrate all things scary and spooky.  We may dress up our children or maybe even ourselves to be a pirate, ghost, or witch.

One of the things that scares me on a daily basis is the number of emails in my inbox.  I have two email addresses that I use plus the emails I get through my LinkedIn account.  Currently, with the two main accounts that I use, I have nearly 360 emails that I still need to do something with.  Although I normally do not have this many, I have gotten up to this many in the past.

Once I get down to a reasonable number, maintaining the amount is something I can maintain.  Typically, it starts to get out of control if it there are days that I cannot maintain it.  Also, there are a number of techniques I have picked up to maintain all of it.

  1. Eliminate needless emails.  If you get emails that you are typically deleting without opening, unsubscribe from them.
  2. Develop a schedule.  Like with anything repetitive, develop a schedule of when you will read email.  Then turn it off until your next time frame or reviewing your inbox.  Most likely, what you do is not life threatening to yourself or others.  By not reviewing emails as they come in, you are not interrupting your productivity of the day.
  3. Read & React.  This is fairly simple.  Read the email, react to it (appropriately), then be done with it.  A bad habit I have is to read an email, and then hold off on replying or dealing with it.  This is typically what drives my emails from the less than 50 range to the 300+ range.
These are the ways I maintain a lower email count.  What are some ways you have found to be successful?

–J. Nolfo helps companies understand their market and customers though a variety of market research strategies. He has over ten years of experience of market research for strategic planning purposes. He is the Director of Research at Rhino Market Research. He shares his thoughts about market research and business concepts with his blog “Pensare…Understanding Market Research in Business“. If you would like to discuss this blog or how J. can help you understand your market and customer needs, email him at jnolfo@rhinomarketresearch.com.

About J. Nolfo
Well...there is a lot to know. #Cx, #Analytics, #SM, Specialty #AgChem, #StL sports, & more. FT @BASFAgProducts. @Mizzou Alum. Supporter of the #Rhino. Tweets my own. #SMMW17 attendee....Dad...Hiker...Scouter...and so much more.

Leave a Reply

